Skip to content
  1. Home
  2. Supplements
  3. Vitamin D3 (cholecalciferol)

Vitamin D3 (cholecalciferol)

Fat-soluble vitamin dosed in international units. Frequently paired with K2.

Supplements

Research records

Historical source snapshot. Not freshly verified, not a recommendation. Study findings, community accounts and app defaults are not interchangeable.

Publication suitability · 2026-10-15: Historical reference only; not a clinical verification. Clinical, regulatory, efficacy, safety and dose claims are not independently established by this review.

Vitamin D3 (cholecalciferol)

Fat-soluble vitamin dosed in international units. Frequently paired with K2.

Evidence category: Reference only. This describes the source category, not approval or certainty.

Regulatory statement in source: Not separately recorded; do not infer approval from the evidence category.

Vitamin D3 (cholecalciferol) is made in skin from sunlight and also comes from food. The single linked source is a narrative review describing how it is converted in the liver and kidneys to the active form, calcitriol. The review reports benefits in specific groups, including bone density, immune balance and glucose control, and describes preclinical work on other organs. It is a review of mixed evidence, not a trial, and it does not cover the vitamin K2 combination.

Benefits reported in the imported source

  • A narrative review reports gains in bone density, immune balance and glucose control in some groups.
  • The review reports slower femoral neck bone density decline than placebo.
  • It also reports less fatigue and better cognition in the groups it covers.

Risks and limits

  • The single source is a narrative review of mixed evidence, not a trial.
  • It reports no improvement in beta-cell function and no fall in major cardiovascular events.
  • It does not cover the vitamin K2 combination.

Source bottom line: One review links vitamin D3 to better bone, immune and glucose measures, with no effect on heart events or beta cells.

Uncertainty: Reference information only. Not medical advice.

Study protocols — reports, not instructions

1,774 participants with prediabetes, in a trial the review cites

Reported regimen
4,000 IU of vitamin D3 daily
Duration
24 months
Reported outcome
The review reports no improvement in beta-cell function.
Source
Cholecalciferol (vitamin D3): efficacy, safety, and implications in public health (availability check 2026-10-15: possible access barrier; not independently inspected; HTTP 200)
Claim provenance

evidence.json#/catalog:supplement:vitamin-d3/protocols/0

general-population adults in the VITAL trial, as the review describes it

Reported regimen
2,000 IU of vitamin D3 daily
Duration
not stated
Reported outcome
The review reports no significant reduction in major cardiovascular events.
Source
Cholecalciferol (vitamin D3): efficacy, safety, and implications in public health (availability check 2026-10-15: possible access barrier; not independently inspected; HTTP 200)
Claim provenance

evidence.json#/catalog:supplement:vitamin-d3/protocols/1

adults given weekly cholecalciferol against placebo, in a trial the review cites

Reported regimen
20,000 IU of cholecalciferol weekly
Duration
not stated
Reported outcome
The review reports a slower decline in femoral neck bone mineral density than placebo.
Source
Cholecalciferol (vitamin D3): efficacy, safety, and implications in public health (availability check 2026-10-15: possible access barrier; not independently inspected; HTTP 200)
Claim provenance

evidence.json#/catalog:supplement:vitamin-d3/protocols/2

people recovering from COVID-19, in a study the review cites

Reported regimen
50,000 IU of cholecalciferol a week
Duration
8 weeks
Reported outcome
The review reports a 42% reduction in fatigue and 35% improvement in cognition.
Source
Cholecalciferol (vitamin D3): efficacy, safety, and implications in public health (availability check 2026-10-15: possible access barrier; not independently inspected; HTTP 200)
Claim provenance

evidence.json#/catalog:supplement:vitamin-d3/protocols/3

Community and practice descriptions

Accounts of a practice are not evidence of safety or effectiveness. Words such as “standard”, “safe” or “recommended” describe the source account, not verified consensus or this wiki’s advice. Commercial and self-published citations are retained for traceability, not vendor endorsement or independent clinical corroboration.

Historical research outcome: no-verified-description · 2026-10-06

No suitable community description was independently verified in these checks. The entry remains empty; this does not establish that no practice exists elsewhere. The excerpt distinguishes chemical forms and origins, not a community routine.

Pharmacokinetic context

Historical half-life estimate: 360 hours. 25-OH-D circulating half-life Population/route context and estimates may differ. This is not a schedule or a verified human dosing rule.

Source references

Snapshot provenance

Source ID: catalog:supplement:vitamin-d3. Commit: adc7684614f9439b41d91a3312b62e7982c7e20e. Review state: historical-not-reverified. Authored links are retained separately from the canonical evidence links in the public data. App templates/defaults and rejected drafts are archived, not deployed.

Related entries and components

None listed.